Museo Ferrari Maranello, Italy VfB Stuttgart PopArt-Serie 125 Jahre i8 ArtCar „iGlacier” Katharinenpalast St. Petersburg First European Artist Museo Ferrari Maranello, Italy Deutsches Zweirad- und NSU-Museum Legends of Le Mans Museum Volkswagen Wolfsburg, Germany Nationalmuseum von Kasachstan Meet the Artist

AUTOMOTIVE MEDIAMIX

Dakar '86

MixedMedia / Acrylic on Canvas
on 1.8” / 45 mm Wooden Museum Frame
63” x 43” / 160 x 110 cm

After Jacky Ickx won the Paris-Dakar in 1983 in a Mercedes 280 GE, he convinced Porsche to test the new Carrera 4×4 in the Paris-Dakar Rally. Rothmans financed the Jacky Ickx Racing Team project. An atmosphere very much akin to a family prevailed at Porsche at this time. Porsche won the race in 1984 at the drop of a hat, with René Metge taking first place and Ickx coming in sixth.

 

1985 was an unsuccessful year for Porsche. The 600 horsepower twinturbocharged engines of the new 959 were not yet ready, and it proved necessary to compete with the weaker 911 engines. All three Porsche vehicles were eliminated, with Ickx and his co-driver Claude Brasseur wrecking their car completely on a rock concealed with sand.

 

The highly sophisticated Porsche 959 was completed in time to participate in the Dakar in 1986. Porsche won the race for the second time with a one-two victory in this year, with Jacky Ickx coming in second behind René Metge.

 

When it was introduced in 1986, the 959 was considered the world’s fastest street-legal production car and a technological forerunner due to its numerous innovations.

AUTOMOTIVE MEDIAMIX

Rene Metge Rallye Paris-Dakar 1986 Porsche

Dakar '86

Mediamix / Acryl auf Leinwand
auf 45 mm Museumskeilrahmen
160 x 110 cm

Nachdem Jacky Ickx 1983 die Paris-Dakar auf einem Mercedes 280 GE gewann, überzeugte er Porsche, den neuen Carrera 4×4 auf der Paris-Dakar zu testen. Rothmans finanzierte das Projekt „Jacky Ickx Racing Team“. Zu dieser Zeit ging es bei Porsche noch sehr familiär zu. Porsche gewann das Rennen 1984 auf Anhieb. Erster wurde René Metge, Ickx Sechster.

 

1985 blieb Porsche erfolglos. Die 600 PS starken Biturbo-Motoren des neuen 959 waren noch nicht fertig und so musste mit den schwächeren 911er-Motoren gestartet werden. Alle drei Porsche fielen aus. Ickx und Beifahrer Claude Brasseur erlitten an einem sandbedeckten Felsen Totalschaden.

 

1986 startete dann der fertig gestellte, hochentwickelte Porsche 959 auf der Dakar. Porsche gewann zum zweiten Mal das Rennen, in diesem Jahr mit einem Doppelsieg. Jacky Ickx wurde Zweiter hinter René Metge.

 

Der 959 galt bei seiner Erstauslieferung 1986 als schnellstes Serienfahrzeug der Welt mit Straßenzulassung und mit seinen vielen technischen Neuerungen als Technologieträger.