History of Aviation PROJECT 2020 Museo Ferrari Maranello, Italy VfB Stuttgart PopArt-Serie 125 Jahre Katharinenpalast St. Petersburg First European Artist Deutsches Zweirad- und NSU-Museum Legends of Le Mans Museum Volkswagen Wolfsburg, Germany Nationalmuseum von Kasachstan Meet the Artist i8 ArtCar „iGlacier”

AUTOMOTIVE MEDIAMIX

Leggenda GTO

MixedMedia / Acrylic on Canvas
on 1.8” / 45 mm Wooden Museum Frame
63” x 43” / 160 x 110 cm

The GTO best encapsulates the Ferrari philosophy: maximum performance and appearance. The vehicle was unveiled in 1962 and only produced until 1964. The selling price in 1962 was $ 18,000 in the United States.

 

A 250 GTO with a V12 engine is the most expensive car ever sold, with one example being purchased for $ 52,000,000 in October 2013 for the Torrota Collection in Spain. All 39 GTO cars produced have survived down to the present day, and their whereabouts are broadly known. Many today still consider it to be the most beautiful car ever created.

 

The initials GTO stand for Gran Turismo Omologato. It was developed as a racing car with approval for road use, and drivers frequently drove their own vehicles to venues to participate in races. Developing 300 PS from the most frequently fitted 3-litre engine, the car achieved a speed of 280 km/h.

 

Racing successes included class victories at the 12 Hours of Sebring, the Targa Florio, the 1000 km of Spa-Francorchamps and at Le Mans.

AUTOMOTIVE MEDIAMIX

Leggenda GTO Enzo Ferrari 1962

Leggenda GTO

Mediamix / Acryl auf Leinwand
auf 45 mm Museumskeilrahmen
160 x 110 cm

Der GTO vereint die Ferrari-Philosophie am Besten: ein Höchstmaß an Leistung und Erscheinung. Vorgestellt wurde das Fahrzeug 1962 und nur bis 1964 gebaut. Der Verkaufspreis 1962 lag in den USA bei 18.000 US-Dollar (damals etwa 72.000 DM).

 

Ein 250 GTO mit seinem V12 Motor ist das teuerste jemals verkaufte Fahrzeug. Im Oktober 2013 wurde ein Exemplar für 52 Mio US-$ an die Torrota Collection in Spanien verkauft. Die 39 produzierten GTO sind allesamt heute noch erhalten. Der Verbleib der Fahrzeuge weitgehend bekannt. Für viele ist er heute noch das schönste Auto.

 

Die Buchstaben GTO stehen für „Gran Turismo Omologato“. Er wurde entwickelt als Rennwagen mit Straßenzulassung. Die Fahrer reisten oft auf eigener Achse zu den Rennen an. Mit 300 PS aus dem meist verbauten 3-Liter-Motor erreichte der Wagen 280 km/h.

 

Rennerfolge waren Klassensiege bei den 12 Stunden von Sebring, bei der Targa-Florio, den 1000 km von Spa-Francorchamps und in Le Mans.