History of Aviation PROJECT 2020 Museo Ferrari Maranello, Italy VfB Stuttgart PopArt-Serie 125 Jahre Katharinenpalast St. Petersburg First European Artist Deutsches Zweirad- und NSU-Museum Legends of Le Mans Museum Volkswagen Wolfsburg, Germany Nationalmuseum von Kasachstan Meet the Artist i8 ArtCar „iGlacier”

AUTOMOTIVE MEDIAMIX

Memory of Jim Clark

MixedMedia / Acrylic on Canvas
on 1.8” / 45 mm Wooden Museum Frame
63” x 43” / 160 x 110 cm

James Clark, known as Jim Clark, was born in Scotland in 1936. So successful was his performance in the Lotus 18 in the 1960 Formula Junior that the English racing car designer Colin Chapman helped him to his first race in Formula One in the same year. Colin Chapman, the drawing board genius, and Jim Clark, the virtuoso on the track, uniquely complemented each other. That which Colin Chapman designed as an engineer was transformed with perfection into speed by Jim Clark. A real friendship blossomed over the years between the two, further intensifying their cooperation.

 

Jim Clark was the preeminent driver of the 1960’s. He won 25 Grand Prix, achieved 33 pole positions and, in 1965, became the first European to win the Indy 500 since 1916. He became World Champion in 1963 and 1965, losing the title in 1962 and 1964 due to technical faults and on each occasion late in the race.

 

Jim Clark: “The supreme attraction of motor racing for me is driving a car as near the phy- sical limit as possible without stepping over it. I have always recognised and respected the safety limit for myself and for other drivers, and I would far rather lose a race any day than overstep myself or my car.”

 

7 April 1968, Hockenheimring: The 32-year-old champion was unambiguous in his opinion of the course: “Absolutely ridiculous.” In pouring rain, Clark suffered a fatal accident in what for him was a completely insignificant Formula Two race. What remains is the memory of a wonderful person and a great driver.

AUTOMOTIVE MEDIAMIX

Jim Clark Hockenheimring 1968 Lotus

Memory of Jim Clark

Mediamix / Acryl auf Leinwand
auf 45 mm Museumskeilrahmen
160 x 110 cm

Der 1936 geborene Schotte James „Jim“ Clark Jr. fuhr 1960 den Lotus 18 Formel Junior so erfolgreich, dass ihm der englische Rennwagen-Konstrukteur Colin Chapman bereits im selben Jahr einen Start in der Formel 1 ermöglichte. Colin Chapman, das Genie am Reissbrett, und Jim Clark, der Virtuose auf der Straße, ergänzten sich einmalig. Was Colin Chapman als Ingenieur entwickelte, setzte Jim Clark perfekt in Geschwindigkeit um. Im Verlauf der Jahre entstand eine echte Freundschaft, welche die Zusammenarbeit noch intensivierte.

 

Jim Clark war der überragende Fahrer der Sechziger Jahre. Er gewann 25 Große Preise, stand 33 Mal auf der Pole und war 1965 der erste europäische Indy 500 Gewinner seit 1916. Er wurde 1963 und 1965 Weltmeister und verlor den Titel 1962 und 1964 durch technische Defekte jeweils erst im letzten Rennen.

 

Jim Clark: „Für mich persönlich besteht die Hauptfaszination des Rennsports darin, dass ich einen Wagen an die äußerste physikalische Grenze „ausfahre“, ohne jedoch diese Grenze zu überschreiten. Ich selbst habe die Grenzen der Sicherheit für mich selbst und für andere stets erkannt und respektiert, und ich würde lieber ein Rennen verlieren, als über meine eigenen Fähigkeiten – oder die meines Wagens – hinauszugehen.“

 

7. April 1968 Hockenheimring: Der 32-jährige Champion über die Strecke:
„Absolutely ridiculous”, total lächerlich. Im Regen verunglückt Clark im für ihn völlig unbedeutenden Formel-2-Rennen tödlich. Es bleibt die Erinnerung an einen großartigen Menschen und Rennfahrer.