History of Aviation PROJECT 2020 Museo Ferrari Maranello, Italy VfB Stuttgart PopArt-Serie 125 Jahre Katharinenpalast St. Petersburg First European Artist Deutsches Zweirad- und NSU-Museum Legends of Le Mans Museum Volkswagen Wolfsburg, Germany Nationalmuseum von Kasachstan Meet the Artist i8 ArtCar „iGlacier”

AUTOMOTIVE MEDIAMIX

Paris-Dakar '83

MixedMedia / Acrylic on Canvas
on 1.8” / 45 mm Wooden Museum Frame
63” x 43” / 160 x 110 cm

 

with Original signature from Racing Legend
Jacky Ickx

not for sale

In 1983, the Paris-Dakar Rally was not just the name of an event, as it was actually run from Paris to the Senegalese capital Dakar. The rally is the opening event of the motorsport year.

 

With support from Texaco and the experience of a first appearance, Jacky Ickx and his friend Claude Brasseur construct a 4-wheel drive Mercedes 280 GE (W460) for the Paris-Dakar Rally.

 

That the Mercedes is one of the favourites in 1983 for the tortuous 12,000 km route from Paris to Dakar is already apparent after the initial stages. Ickx (no. 142) and his team mate Jean-Pierre Jaussaud (no. 143) set a punishing pace with speeds which at times reach 185 km/h. The for today’s standards modest 230 horsepower is enough to win the rally.

 

The route passes through the Ténéré desert for the first time, and it is here that the original planning goes awry. Practically the entire rally loses its way in a sandstorm, with 40 participants going missing. Three stages are cancelled.

 

Ahead of 384 competitors, Jacky Ickx gains the only title for Mercedes-Benz (in the cars class). Right up until today, no other vehicle bearing the famous star has been constructed for so long with practically no modifications. However, technical improvements to the vehicle were realised time and again.

AUTOMOTIVE MEDIAMIX

Jacky Ickx Rallye Paris-Dakar 1983 Mercedes

Paris-Dakar '83

Mediamix / Acryl auf Leinwand
auf 45 mm Museumskeilrahmen
160 x 110 cm

 

mit Originalunterschrift der Rennfahrerlegende
Jacky Ickx

unverkäuflich

1983 hieß die Rallye Paris-Dakar nicht nur so, sondern führte auch noch tatsächlich von Paris zur senegalesischen Hauptstadt Dakar. Die Rallye ist die Auftaktveranstaltung eines jeden Motorsportjahres.

 

Mit Unterstützung von Texaco und der Erfahrung des ersten Einsatzes bauen Jacky Ickx und sein Freund Claude Brasseur einen allradgetriebenen Mercedes 280 GE (W460) für die Rallye Paris-Dakar auf.

 

Dass der Mercedes 1983 bei der 12.000-km-Tortur Paris-Dakar zu den Favoriten gehört, wird schon nach den ersten Etappen klar. Ickx (Nr. 142) und Teamkollege Jean-Pierre Jaussaud (Nr. 143), legen ein höllisches Tempo vor, sind teilweise bis 185 km/h schnell. Die nach heutigem Maßstab bescheidenen 230 PS reichen aus, die Rallye zu gewinnen.

 

Zum ersten Mal geht die Strecke durch die Ténéré-Wüste. Dort läuft alles anders als geplant. Fast die komplette Rallye verirrt sich in einem Sandsturm. 40 Teilnehmer gehen erst einmal verloren. Drei Wertungsprüfungen werden abgesagt.

 

Jacky Ickx ließ 384 Konkurrenten hinter sich und holt den einzigen Titel für Mercedes-Benz (im Segment Autos). Kein anderes Fahrzeug mit Stern wurde bis heute so lange fast unverändert gebaut. Technisch erfuhr das Fahrzeug allerdings immer wieder Verbesserungen.