History of Aviation PROJECT 2020 Museo Ferrari Maranello, Italy VfB Stuttgart PopArt-Serie 125 Jahre Katharinenpalast St. Petersburg First European Artist Deutsches Zweirad- und NSU-Museum Legends of Le Mans Museum Volkswagen Wolfsburg, Germany Nationalmuseum von Kasachstan Meet the Artist i8 ArtCar „iGlacier”

AUTOMOTIVE MEDIAMIX

Serie - Solitude Ring

The Solitude racetrack was a motorsport racing venue near Stuttgart which operated from 1925 to 1965. It was named after Schloss Solitude, a nearby
rococo palace. It traced its origins back more than 100 years, and hillclimb
races were held as of 1903.

Following the Second World War, races were held again as of 1949 and the track was brought up to international standards through measures which included a broader course and surface with improved hold and the construction of a start and end tower and pits. The 22 km (later 11 km) long circuit was considered
extremely challenging and compared to the Targa Florio in Sicily.

The course runs from the start and end tower at the present ADAC training grounds past Glemseck near Leonberg and on to Frauenkreuz. It then continues towards Katzenbacher Hof, passes the Stuttgart district of Büsnau to Schattengrund and through the Mahdental back to the start and finish line.

The Solitude was the Formula One venue from 1961 to 1964 for the Grand Prix of Solitude. The winners were Innes Ireland in a Lotus (1961), Dan Gurney in a Porsche (1962), Jack Brabham in a Brabham (1963) and Jim Clark in a Lotus (1964).

AUTOMOTIVE MEDIAMIX

Serie - Solitude Ring

Die Solitude-Rennstrecke war von 1925 bis 1965 eine Motorsport-Rennstrecke bei Stuttgart, benannt nach dem Schloss Solitude. Ihren Ursprung hatte die Strecke bereits vor über 100 Jahren. Ab 1903 fanden dort Bergrennen statt.

 

Nach dem Krieg wurden ab 1949 wieder Rennen ausgetragen und die Strecke an internationale Standards angepasst: Unter anderem eine breitere Strecke und ein griffigerer Belag sowie der Bau des Start- und Zielhauses und der Boxenanlage. Der 22 km (später 11 km) lange Rundkurs galt als überaus anspruchsvoll und wurde mit der Targa Florio in Sizilien verglichen.

 

Die Strecke führt vom Start-und-Ziel-Haus beim heutigen ADAC-Übungsplatz am Glemseck bei Leonberg vorbei hinauf zum Frauenkreuz. Dann Richtung Katzenbacher Hof, vorbei am Stuttgarter Stadtteil Büsnau zum Schattengrund und durch das Mahdental zurück zu Start und Ziel.

 

1961 bis 1964 war die Solitude dann Austragungsort der Formel 1 mit dem „Großen Preis der Solitude.” Die Gewinner waren Innes Ireland auf Lotus (1961), Dan Gurney auf Porsche (1962), Jack Brabham auf Brabham (1963) und Jim Clark auf Lotus (1964).