History of Aviation PROJECT 2020 Museo Ferrari Maranello, Italy VfB Stuttgart PopArt-Serie 125 Jahre Katharinenpalast St. Petersburg First European Artist Deutsches Zweirad- und NSU-Museum Legends of Le Mans Museum Volkswagen Wolfsburg, Germany Nationalmuseum von Kasachstan Meet the Artist i8 ArtCar „iGlacier”

AUTOMOTIVE MEDIAMIX

2002er

MixedMedia / Acrylic on Canvas
on 1.8” / 45 mm Wooden Museum Frame
55” x 35” / 140 x 90 cm

1966 saw the creation under BMW’s design chief Wilhelm Hofmeister of the New Class – the compact 02 Series. The most successful representative of this series is the BMW 2002 (development code E20).

 

Even before the Porsche 911 Turbo, the 2002 Turbo was the first series production German car with an exhaust-driven turbocharger. Generating 170 horsepower, the car was first presented during the oil crisis at the end of 1973 and severely criticised for its high fuel consumption. The “turbo 2002” logo applied in mirror fashion to the front spoiler also raised many eyebrows and was described as “war paint” in the press.

 

The model was exclusively available in silver (Polaris Metallic) and white (Chamonix). Only 1672 vehicles were produced between September 1973 and November 1974, and the price was 20,780 German marks when production ended in 1974.

 

02 Series vehicles were extremely successful and also lent many new impulses to motor racing. In particular, numerous successes were gained in the German Racing Championship (Deutsche Rennsport-Meisterschaft). Tuning firms such as Alpina, Schnitzer, Koepchen and GS-Tuning further enhanced the sporting image of the 02 Series.

AUTOMOTIVE MEDIAMIX

BMW 2002 Turbo

2002er

Mediamix / Acryl auf Leinwand
auf 45 mm Museumskeilrahmen
140 x 90 cm

Unter BMWs Chefdesigner Wilhelm Hofmeister entsteht 1966 die „Neue Klasse” – die kompakte 02er-Serie. Erfolgreichster Vertreter dieser Serie ist der BMW 2002 (Entwicklungscode E20).

 

Noch vor dem Porsche 911 Turbo war der 2002 turbo das erste in Serie hergestellte deutsche Auto mit Abgasturbolader. Der 170 PS starke Wagen wurde während der ersten Ölkrise Ende 1973 vorgestellt und wegen des hohen Benzinverbrauchs stark kritisiert. So auch der auf Wunsch angebrachte Schriftzug auf dem Frontspoiler „turbo 2002” in Spiegelschrift, der in der Presse als „Kriegsbemalung” bezeichnet wurde.

 

Das Modell war ausschließlich in den Farben Silber (Polaris-metallic) und Weiß (Chamonix) erhältlich. Von September 1973 bis November 1974 wurden lediglich 1672 Fahrzeuge hergestellt. Der Preis bei Produktionsende 1974 lag bei 20.780 DM.

 

Die Fahrzeuge der 02er-Serie waren sehr erfolgreich und konnten auch dem Rennsport viele Impulse geben. Insbesondere in der Deutschen Rennsport-Meisterschaft wurden viele Erfolge erzielt.  Eine Reihe von Tuning-Firmen, wie Alpina, Schnitzer, Koepchen oder GS-Tuning machten die 02er noch sportlicher.